Missouri State University
Department of English Blog

Students chosen for Moon City Press’ fall Student Invitational Reading

The creative writing faculty has chosen seven writers, spanning four genres, to represent the student creative force at the Fall 2016 Student Invitational Reading.

MoonCityStudentInvitational-620x387

Who will read?

This semester’s readers include the following students:

  • Ana Berkovich, fiction
  • Brandy Clark, poetry
  • Aundrea Davis, memoir
  • Ali Geren, poetry
  • Jessica Hawkins, fiction
  • Amy Lafferty, fiction
  • Rebecca Stewart, comics

You’re invited!

Nov. 11

7 p.m.
Plaster Student Union Theater
The event is free and open to the public.

Posted in Announcement, News, Readings | Tagged , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Students chosen for Moon City Press’ fall Student Invitational Reading

Tour offers glimpse into MSU’s spooky legends

folklore club logoMissouri State’s English students have collected campus ghost stories for the last 15 years, and this week those stories will be told during the MSU Folklore Club’s 9th annual Haunted Tour.

Hauntings reported across campus

The tour winds through campus for 50 minutes of storytelling. You can learn about the Fountain Ghost, the Hag of Wells Hall, the haunted rooms of Freddy, the Dorm Mom and more!

haunted tour_fountainMore about the tour

Tours begin at the Plaster Student Union and leave every 20 minutes between 6 and 9 p.m. on Oct. 28 and 29.

Tickets are $4 per person or $10 for a group of three. They can be purchased the night of the event on the second floor of the PSU, by the blue lockers under the stairs, or reserve tickets by email.  Proceeds support the Folklore Club.

Event details

Dates: Oct. 28 and 29
Time: 6-9 p.m., tours leave every 20 minutes
Tour length: 50 minutes
Location: Begins at Plaster Student Union
Admission: Open to public; $4 per person, or $10 per group of 3

Posted in News | Tagged , , , , , , | Comments Off on Tour offers glimpse into MSU’s spooky legends

Alumna releases second novel with campus book signing

Alumna Annie England Noblin (’05, ’07) will sign copies of her recently released second novel, “Just Fine with Caroline,” on Oct. 11 at Paw Prints in the Plaster Student Union.

Photo courtesy HarperCollins.
Photo courtesy HarperCollins.

Book synopsis

From the author of “Sit! Stay! Speak!” comes a tender, terrific novel complete with long-buried secrets, a three-legged pot belly pig, and an irresistible dog—an unforgettable story about love, friendship, and community. Perfect for fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Mary Alice Monroe.

Caroline O’Connor never dreamed she’d be back home in Cold River, Missouri, the Ozark Mountain town where everyone is ‘up your business.’…they mean well as they drive you crazy. She thought she’d left town for good, but now she’s back, helping to care for her New York born mother—struck with Alzheimer’s, and prone to saying and doing anything—and her father, the beloved local doctor frustrated he can’t cure his own wife.

As for Caroline, she’s doing ‘just fine’ coping with her parents, her brazen cousin Ava Dawn’s marital disasters, her mostly-deaf dog…and with Noah Cranwell, far-flung relative of a local family mostly infamous for running moonshine, an ex-veteran who’s come to Cold River with troubles of his own.

Caroline believes she knows everything about Cold River and the people who live in its hills and hollers … but sometimes life’s greatest surprises happen closest to home.

*Synopsis provided by HarperCollins.

More about Noblin

A former MSU Bookstore employee, Annie has authored two novels published by HarperCollins Publishers. Their bio section about her reads:

“Annie England Noblin lives with her son, husband, and three dogs in the Missouri Ozarks. She graduated with an M.A. in creative writing from Missouri State University and currently teaches English and communications for Arkansas State University in Mountain Home, Arkansas. She spends her free time playing make-believe, feeding stray cats, and working with animal shelters across the country to save homeless dogs.”

Event details

Date: Oct. 11
Time: 6 p.m.
Location: Paw Prints, Plaster Student Union

Posted in Announcement, News | Tagged , , , , , , | Comments Off on Alumna releases second novel with campus book signing

English department welcomes new faculty

Please help us welcome the following professors who joined us this fall.

Dr. Suneeta Thomas, TESOL

suneetathomas-300x409

Dr. Thomas was born in India and raised in United Arab Emirates. She specializes in different styles of English spoken throughout world.

Dr. Jonathan Newman, English before the 1800s

jonathannewman-300x405

Dr. Newman is currently working on a book project that focuses on the practical connections between literary competence, masculinity and professional identity from which humanistic authorship emerged in the Middle Ages.

Dr. Leslie Seawright, technical and professional writing

leslieseawright-300x405

Dr. Seawright has been teaching at the Texas A&M University at Qatar. She specializes in police report analysis and how those reports affect the legal system.

Posted in News | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on English department welcomes new faculty

Mind’s Eye features Keri Franklin’s research on writing instruction

Dr. Keri Franklin leads the newly formed Center for Writing in College, Career and Community at Missouri State. The organization houses the Ozarks Writing Project and College-Ready Writers Program.

Dr. Franklin and her team is dedicating to improving writing instruction across the region. Her research will be featured in the Missouri State’s next Mind’s Eye magazine.

Transforming student writing in the Ozarks

How does a person become a writer? How does a teacher teach writing rather than assign it? How can a school-university partnership make an impact on improving student writing in high schools?

Those are the research questions Dr. Franklin hopes to answer.

Over the last decade, Franklin has secured $1.3 million in grants to carry out the organization’s mission: to impact student writing outcomes as well as teachers’ beliefs and practices.

“I love getting community partners together and seeing people achieve and grow. To create a network that could go on without me — that’s bigger than me — I’m really proud of that.”

Read more about Franklin and her research in the 2016 Mind’s Eye magazine. 

Posted in News, research | Tagged , , , , , | Comments Off on Mind’s Eye features Keri Franklin’s research on writing instruction