MSU student films win awards at media arts festival

The Broadcast Education Association has announced the winners of its 2016 National Festival of Media Arts, and several media, journalism and film students were recognized, including Best of Festival winner Becca Thompson.


Missouri State winners

The complete list of Missouri State winners are as follows:

Best of Festival, Student Scriptwriting category

  • Becca Thompson on set of "Counting to 1,000"
    Becca Thompson on set of “Counting to 1,000”

    Short Script: “When the Morning Comes,” written by Becca Thompson

2nd Place

  • Short Script: “Counting to 1000,” written by Josh Pfaff and Becca Thompson

3rd Place

  • TV Spec Script: “Abracadabra,” written by Madison Auten
  • Mobisode/Webisode: “Backstage,” written by Christian Douglass and Lauren Johnson
  • Promotional Video: Indiegogo fundraising video for “Counting to 1000,” director/edited by Josh Pfaff, produced by Andrew Westmaas and Samantha Rohde, with audio by Joshua Moore and Andrew Westmaas
Behind the scenes of “Dead on Time”

Honorable Mention

  • Short Script: “Twisted Fate,” written by Ryan Huegerich
  • Animation/Experimental/Mixed Video: “Dead on Time,” written and directed by Sara Silkwood, sound design by Alex Scott and Logan Fritts, cinematography by Josh Pfaff
  • Feature Film: “The House Next Door,” written by Christian Douglass





Awards presentation

The 2016 competition entry window ran from November 15 to December 15, and winners were announced last week.

Prizes will be awarded during BEA’s annual convention and Festival of Media Arts, April 17-20, 2016 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

This entry was posted in Award Recognition, Digital Film Production, Electronic Arts, Film Festival, Media Production, News, screenwriting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.